Lake Moraine

INLUS Webinar – Banff Convention Q & A

Please join us on Tuesday, March 7th, 2023 at 8pm EST / 7pm CST /6pm MST /5pm PST / 0100 GMT (11 Jan) using our online Zoom webinar platform.  We will discuss the upcoming Icelandic Convention with Bob Baker and his team from the host organization, the Leif Eiriksson Icelandic Club of Calgary.


Background

The Icelandic National Leagues will be meeting in Banff, Alberta May 11-14, 2023.  The Leif Eiriksson Icelandic Club of Calgary, an INLUS member organization, is hosting the event with the theme Celebrating our Icelandic Heritage in the Arts.  Registration is open at 2023 CONVENTION Link.  You will notice that the convention is designated as an INLNA convention – our sister group in Canada will hold their annual meeting and awards recognition during the weekend, but all are welcome.

If you are flying, book your airline into Calgary, Alberta and then schedule a bus to Banff (google to find operators and pick-up/drop-off times).  Registration opens at the Banff Center for the Arts at 2:00 PM with a showing of the film “A Letter from Helga” at 3:00 PM.  An opening reception begins at 7:00 PM.  Friday and Saturday will be full of presentations and break-out sessions.  A full program will be available on the LEIC website, www.leicyyc.ca.  A little shout-out to INLUS member Sverrir Sigurdsson who will conduct a workshop on memoir writing on Friday at 3:30 PM.  Additionally, INLUS Past-president Sunna Furstenau will give a presentation on Icelandic Roots during the Friday breakout sessions.  Saturday evening features a gala dinner and entertainment (one ticket is included in the registration).

The INLUS is planning a casual get-together on Friday evening following the INLNA recognition event – details will be announced later.

There will be an optional tour to Markerville, Alberta on Sunday.  Markerville was settled by Icelanders and was the home of poet Stephan G. Stephansson.  The Markerville Icelandic club has done an excellent job preserving the town and it will be a delight to tour.

The U.S. enjoys a significant reduction in the published costs due to the strong U.S. dollar against the Canadian dollar.  Today, Feb. 1, the Canadian dollar is worth $0.75 in US dollars – a 25% savings!  You probably will not be able to find a more reasonable opportunity to see one of the most beautiful places in North America!


About the Event

Please join us on Tuesday, March 7th, 2023 at 8pm EST / 7pm CST /6pm MST /5pm PST / 0100 GMT (11 Jan) using our online Zoom webinar platform.

We will also record the webinar for later viewing on the INLUS website.


How to Join

Webinar Link – CLICK HERE

When: Mar 7, 2023 19:00 Central Time (US and Canada)
Topic: INLUS Webinar – Banff Convention Q & A

Please click the link below to join the webinar:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86947714446

 

 

 

 

The event is finished.

Date

Mar 07 2023
Expired!

Time

CDT
19:00 - 20:00

Local Time

  • Timezone: Europe/Berlin
  • Date: Mar 08 2023
  • Time: 02:00 - 03:00

Labels

INLUS Event
Category
INLUS

Organizer

INLUS
Email
info@inlus.org