POSTPONED – When we think of Icelandic Heritage, many of us whose descendants came to North America generations ago think about the traditions.  But what about those things such as books, diaries, letters, and other documents that came with the immigrants that provided reading enjoyment, or were written by them that documents their journey and life?  If you are a newer arrival, perhaps you brought with you reminders of your family and home in the form of an old book or two.

Several years ago, Guðrún Nordal, Örn Arnar, and the late Svavar Gestsson had the idea to locate and identify these fragile documents.  From that idea, the Fragile Heritage Project at the Árni Magnússon Institute in Reykjavik was born.  Members of the project have been traveling sporadically through North America gathering information and documenting their owners and locations.

Webinar – Save the Date – Postponed until a later date

Katelin Parsons, PhD, is the Project Manager of the Fragile Heritage Project in Reykjavik.  She will talk with us on Monday, February 22, at 4:00 PM Eastern/3:00 PM Central/2:00 PM Mountain/1:00 PM Pacific about the project’s goals, progress, and how we can help meet those goals.

Please plan on joining this interesting and important webinar!  Details may be found at Events Calendar – Icelandic National League (inlus.org).