Nancy Marie Brown

There is a lot going on in the INLUS! Reminders April 9 (Fri.), 3:00 PM Eastern/2:00 Central/1:00 Mountain/Noon Pacific:  Kaffi Timi.  This is an open one-hour time to chat with others from across North America.  Details may be found at Kaffi Tími 2021 – Icelandic National League (inlus.org).  These meetings occur every 2 weeks. April…

Read More
Iceland and USA flags with text (www.INLUS.org)

Please join us in later in March and April for two new webinars. First, on March 21st we will speak with Jonathan Wood, Polar Law student at the University of Akureyri.  He will talk about what brought him to Iceland, the Polar Law program, his work with the Arctic indigenous communities and the challenges they are…

Read More
Katelin Parsons photo

Now scheduled for April 14 – When we think of Icelandic Heritage, many of us whose descendants came to North America generations ago think about the traditions.  But what about those things such as books, diaries, letters, and other documents that came with the immigrants that provided reading enjoyment, or were written by them that documents…

Read More
On the ferry to Grimsey

** PLEASE SHARE WITH OTHERS ** We welcome everyone to join us for our next webinar this Sunday evening (31 Jan) at 6 pm PST / 7 pm MST /8 pm CST / 9 pm EST / 2 am GMT – when we are pleased to present Lauren Fields sharing insights about fisheries management in…

Read More
Budir church photo

Response to the INLUS Webinar yesterday was overwhelming and viewer demand exceeded the capacity of our Zoom account! We appreciate the worldwide interest and apologize to those who could not view the event at the scheduled time. We will host our next webinar later this month on January 31st. See the INLUS Events Calendar for…

Read More
Iceland back sand beach

Visiting Iceland in 2021?! The Covid-19 vaccines are giving us hope that we will be able to gather and travel in 2021.  Iceland is reviewing and revising their requirements and protocols for safely visiting Iceland.  Join us on Sunday, January 17th and learn the latest travel news!  Jóhannes Thór Skúlason, Managing Director of the Icelandic…

Read More
New Year Fireworks in Reykjavik

Gleðilegt nýtt ár! As we prepare to turn the page to a new year, the INLUS wishes you a Happy New Year.  We are looking forward to a year of continuing growth and offerings of interesting and valuable information. We will begin the year with two of our popular webinars. On January 17th we will speak…

Read More
Snorri participants with flags photo

The Snorri Foundation in Reykjavik has released details for 2021 Snorri Programs.  Pála Hallgrímsdóttir, the new Project Manager for these programs, distributed the attached flyer announcing plans for 2021. (subject to changing Pandemic regulations, of course) Keep in mind that the INLUS provides scholarships to USA-based Snorri participants!  More information can be found on our…

Read More
book covers

Please join us on Sunday, November 15th at 9PM Eastern (8PM Central; 7PM Mountain; 6PM Pacific) for another INLUS Author’s Corner, a periodic webinar with authors of Iceland related books. The event will feature authors Amy Hendrickson and Eric Newman and a discussion of their books, Lara of the North and Lundi the Lost Puffin.…

Read More
authors photo in Iceland

Please join us on Thursday, November 5th at 8PM Eastern (7PM Central; 6PM Mountain; 5PM Pacific) for another INLUS Author’a Corner, a periodic webinar with authors of Iceland related books. The event will feature authors Sverrir Sigurdsson and his wife Veronica Li and a discussion of their 2020 memoir, Viking Voyager: An Icelandic Memoir. The…

Read More