Do you want to visit Iceland? Are you confused by Covid-19 travel restrictions?

Are you concerned about the future of Icelandair or air travel to Iceland?

INLUS wants to help!

We are excited to welcome Jóhannes Þór Skúlason, Managing Director of the Icelandic Travel Industry Association (SAF), for an online discussion of the latest travel information from Iceland.

Our webinar host will be INLUS Past-President Sunna Furstenau. Please join us on Wednesday, May 27th, 2020 at 3 pm PDT / 4 pm MDT / 5 pm CDT / 6 pm EDT / 10 pm GMT using our online Zoom webinar platform. We will also record the webinar for later viewing on the INLUS website.

Please click the link below to join the webinar: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81424042972?pwd=aUlYbEIxRGdpVHJsa1l5MTBQOTNadz09

Password: KEF


Jóhannes Þór Skúlason is Managing Director of the Icelandic Travel Industry Association (SAF), representing companies in all branches of tourism in Iceland. Prior to taking up the post he served as political advisor to the Prime Minister
ofIceland and ran a PR consultancy firm. In his role as the PM‘s advisor, Jóhannes visited the Icelandic communities of North Dakota and Manitoba in 2014 and took part in the August the Deuce ceremonies in Mountain as well as Íslendingadagurinn in Gimli. The experience sparked both lasting friendships across the ocean and an interest in strengthening the ties with the Icelandic communities in North America.

In the last 11 years Jóhannes has played an active role in tackling the economical challenges of the Icelandic post-crash economy, gained experience in international relations at leadership level and worked with companies in various sectors on strategic communications issues. He firmly believes that a strong long-term strategy for building sustainable tourism in both rural and urban areas is essential for strengthening overall economic performance and bringing more diverse job opportunities and increased quality of life to local communities. Under his management SAF has placed growing emphasis on sustainability and tourism development in rural areas.


The Icelandic National League of the United States (INLUS) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization which promotes Icelandic heritage, culture and language in the United States. To become more connected with the Icelandic community and to support our educational mission, please join us.

  Visit www.INLUS.org