Webinar: October 22, 2020, 4:00 PM EDT/3:00 PM CDT/2:00 PM MDT/1:00 PM PDT


Daniel Willard Fiske was a young man when he ventured to Iceland in 1850.  He was so enamored by the country, the people, and their books, that he began his own collection, focusing on Iceland, anything relating to the Viking Forays, and on the exploration of North America.  He returned to the US in 1852 with his first volumes.  The Fiske Icelandic Collection is surpassed by only the Royal Library in Copenhagen and the National Library in Reykjavik.

Join us on Thursday, October 22, 3:00 PM CDT when Patrick J. Stevens will give a presentation on the Fiske Icelandic Collection and the Islandica Series at the Cornell University Library.  This will be an interesting look at Fiske, curator Halldór Hermannsson’s impact on the collection, and the Series today.


Patrick J. Stevens has served as curator of the Fiske Icelandic Collection in the Cornell University Library since March 1994. He is editor of Icelandic Writers in the Dictionary of Literary Biography (2004) and translator of Willard Fiske: Friend and Benefactor of Iceland, by Kristín Bragadóttir (2019).


The link to the webinar may be found on the INLUS Events Calendar.